Posted by: Rajesh Shukla | August 21, 2010

Painterly Love


Frida and Diego Rivera caught kissing by Lucienne Bloch

Frida Kahlo: I love a man with melones that are bigger than mine.
Diego Rivera: And I love a woman with cojones.

There was this skinny kid with these eyebrows shouting up at me, “Diego, I want to show you my paintings!” But, of course, she made me come down to her, and I did, and I’ve never stopped looking. But I want to speak about Frida not as her husband, but as an artist. I admire her. Her work is acid and tender… hard as steel… and fine as a butterfly’s wing. Loveable as a smile… cruel as… the bitterness of life. I don’t believe… that ever before has a women put such agonized poetry on canvas. –Diego Rivera

Leave a Reply

Categories

